General Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Any other homeschooling nurses? I need encouragement!

re: Any other homeschooling nurses? I need encouragement!

Hi Melanie!
I'm new to this board, but I'm a full time RN in Michigan. I work 3 12's, F/S/S nights. I've been picking up and extra 4 hours every Saturday because we're short. This is my first year homeschooling my 12 year old son. We haven't started with a science or a history curriculum yet, but so far we both love it! I love spending more time with him and he loves being done in a few hours then having the rest of the day to pursue his own interests. I was very worried about teaching him math, but we're using Teaching Textbooks Pre-Algebra and it has taken away all my worries!
Just know you're not alone, there are a few of us at my hospital who are homeschooling and even a few very young and bright nurses who were homeschooled themselves. They're my best cheerleaders and give me reassurance all the time that homeschooled children grow up into smart and well adjusted adults. :)

Way to go working moms!1 I do use some SOS for busy days, otherwise we do some form of school most days of the year. Sometimes only one subject, sometimes something on the computer. I read at night to them and discuss. They use CLE for math and LA so they can do them on my work days. It is a 365 day year so we hav plenty of breaks!!!! I dont worry as long as we move forward.........Lots of Blessings!!!!!

I'm a RN at our local hospital. I work FRI 7p on a medical pediatric floor and house supv on SAT nite. I homeschool one dd (first grade) full time during the week. I catch a lot of flack from people I work with, but I don't expect the world to understand my beliefs. I love my job, but I love my children more. It does get tough sometimes when we go to mandatory overtime. It's nice to know I'm not alone in my journey. Have a blessed day! Jenny