General Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Any other homeschooling nurses? I need encouragement!

Any other homeschooling nurses? I need encouragement!

I work as a part time Rn and often feel left out with the other HS moms who dont have or want to work. I homeschool htree sometimes 4 days a week all year long to allow for days at work and play! It takes us a year to comple a grad with Christial light for math and Language and a year and a half for Sonlight for history. Too much reading for mommy!!!! I always feel behind. The books are great though! Should I go to more of a workbook approach or keep the mix of the two. I have Science SOS bought from a yardsale. I use a little of everything and pull from it what we can (Videos, books, read alouds, trips, camping, life in general) Thanks for all the input. I hope I am getting enough in, my children seem to be thriving.

Melaine RN

re: Any other homeschooling nurses? I need encouragement!

Hi Melanie..
Welcome to the board!
I pretty much do the same thing you do. I work p/t and homeschool about 3-4 days per week, year round.

FYI--the only reason I saw your post was b/c it was on the front home page. We usually post under Chit-Chat for off topic stuff, or under the Homeschool one for stuff about homeschooling.

What kind of nursing do you do? I work for a large HMO in California in a Same Day clinic type area. Worked telemetry for years before that in a hospital. There are several other p/t nurses on this board as well. Hopefully they will see your post. If not, repost under one of the other forums.

How many kids do you have? I have three, but only hs one, the youngest, a boy age 7. My teenaged girls are in public high school. In fact, one will graduate in 5 weeks.

So do you sometimes feel you never get a day off ((smile))...? For me it is worth it though....

Welcome aboard, hope you like to join in our discussions..

jules