Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Abeka vs Bob Jones

Abeka vs Bob Jones

Okay, so both of these interest me, and they both seem like they will work. Our DS will be K when we begin HSing in Aug of '08. So, why would you choose one (Abeka or Bob Jones) over the other?
I've read here that BJU requires more from the teacher, but since I'm a former public school teacher, I'm used to making lesson plans and all. So, tell me why I'd choose one over the other.
TIA

re: Abeka vs Bob Jones

Well, I think Kindergarten *should* require teacher involvement, so that wouldn't be much of a deciding factor for me. I sit next to my 5 yo ds for our entire school lessons (which are short and we only do reading, handwriting and math, as some days he has the attention span of a gnat).
I don't think k requires a full-blown program, and that just focusing on the 3 R's and reading lots of library books aloud is plenty. We have always used BJU in the early grades and it's been fine.

I used K5 Beginnings last year and loved it...using 1st grade (and 5th, 7th, 9th, 11th) this year. With my 4 older children, I used Christian Liberty Phonics and Abeka readers. I found BJUP to be a wonderful curriculum. We enjoyed all of the themes and additional activities, including hands-on and "active" activities. We slacked off toward the end of the year, but my son particularly liked having a "snack of the week" that corresponded to the theme.

I spent between an hour and 15 minutes to an hour and a half with my son for all of his K5 materials except Bible. I could have spent more time, but that's all the time I had with 4 older children!! He was reading well by the end of Kindergarten like my other children, but had enjoyed it much more than they had. I loved that art ideas, social studies, science concepts, etc. in addition to phonics and reading, were all rolled up into one package that was systematic and all laid out for me, and that all of the learning was correlated together.