Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

re: Curriculum suggestions for struggling child

Curriculum suggestions for struggling child

I've decided to take the plunge and homeschool my rising 5th grader next year who has struggled to maintain a C average up to now.

Looking for recommendations on a curriculum that would work well for a struggling student who hates to read (although he can) and is weak on comprehension.

Since I'm new to homeschooling I like the idea of some online instruction to help me out; especially since I don't have the highest confidence in my own math skills.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

www.allinonehomeschool.com It's free and online.
So is www.discoveryk12.com

Don't be afraid to go a level lower, if needed.
For reading, let him read what he wants to read. That will help so much. Go to the library for ideas.

I do like Funschooling journals, but since you said online, that's why I mentioned the first two sites.

Hope that helps.

Hi!
I understand what you're saying. I have a son who will be in 5th grade as well this coming school year. He, too, knows how to read, but doesn't really enjoy it. I thought I'd give you a break-down of what I will be doing with him.

My Father's World Exploring Countries & Cultures-I am using this for Bible, Geography, Science and daily reading. I have been looking over the Teacher's Manual and it is a very good guide as to what we will be doing and learning. I really think my son will enjoy this, along with the read-aloud books that are included. I am hopeful that the exciting, missionary-adventure type books will whet his appetite and help him develop a love of good books and reading for himself :)