Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Tell me about Sonlight....

re: Tell me about Sonlight....

We love Sonlight here! I have no experience with the lowest level cores, but we've done G,H,100, 200, and 530 (looking forward to 400 in the fall). Definitely look over the 27 reasons not to use Sonlight, because many of the criticisms I've read here are addressed in that document.

Carrie

I typed up a nice, long ;o response and it got lost. So here's, hopefully a quicker version.

Like everyone's been saying read their website for 27 reasons not to use it as well as their beliefs on why they use what they do.

A couple of months ago we tried Core G (1st part of World History) with my ds13 (7th grade). We returned it within a few weeks. No problem with returns. Book lists are great, although can be controversial or intense.

We've tried/used a lot of different curriculum and my ds13 was convicted that this was not for us. We started with the beginning of history/creation. The bible reading doesn't really match up. They had us read the book of Mark. The history is Story of the World, which starts with nomads and the Usborne/Kingfisher includes evolution. The TG talks about some of this stuff and says to skip it. All this left my son asking things like, "well, what really happened?" "the timing doesn't line up," and "how can I believe the rest of the book if they say parts of it aren't true?" I did not blame him for questioning and was blessed by his conviction. We wanted to read what the bible says about history because we believe it IS history. Sonlight encourages this type of questioning, but again, read their website and/or forums to learn more about that.

He did like Sonlight's style/format of read and discuss. There's not really any hands-on with Sonlight.